2017 Awards Recipients

Click the award titles to learn more about the recipients

MTNA Achievement Award  

MusicLink Foundation, Arlington, Virginia

Teacher of the Year

Susan T. McDuffie, NCTM, Macon, Georgia

Distinguished Service Award

Benjamin D. Caton, NCTM, Johnson City, Tennessee

MTNA-Frances Clark Keyboard Pedagogy Award

Modules by Paul Sheftel, New York, New York

State Affiliate of the Year

Oklahoma MTA
Karen J. Harrington, NCTM, president

Local Association of the Year

Lincoln MTA (Nebraska)
Svetlana Yashirin, president

Collegiate Chapter of the Year

University of Oklahoma
Jennifer Stadler, NCTM, president; Barbara Fast, NCTM, and Jane McGrath, NCTM, advisors

Distinguished Composer of the Year

David Gompper, Iowa City, Iowa
Cycles for Violoncello and Piano: Commissioned by Iowa MTA

Distinguished Composer of the Year Honorable Mention

Michael Johanson
Three Moods for Viola and Piano: Commissioned by Oregon MTA

Distinguished Composer of the Year Honorable Mention

David Werfelman
Suite á l’antique for Piano: Commissioned by Wisconsin MTA

American Music Teacher Article of the Year

Merlin Thompson, Calgary, Alberta
“Understanding And Nurturing Parents: A Studio Music Teacher's Reflections On Parental Interest And Involvement”: Published February/March 2016

MTNA e-Journal Article of the Year

William Westney, Cynthia M. Grund, James Yang, Aimee Cloutier, Jesse Latimer, Michael O’Boyle, Dan Fang and Jiancheng Hou
“The Pedagogical Value Of ‘Enjoyment’ In The Classical Piano Studio: A Research Report On A Transdisciplinary Study”: Published April 2016

MarySue Harris Studio Teacher Fellowship Award

Karen Lien, NCTM San Antonio, Texas

Piano Technicians Guild Foundation Scholarship

Jihong Park, NCTM, Fort Lauderdale, Florida

50-Year Members

Lucille Arthur, Klamath Falls, Oregon
Margaret Boesiger, Bartlesville, Oklahoma
Dorothy Jane Bostick, NCTM, Wilson, North Carolina
Susan L. Cable, Denver, Colorado
Marilyn A. Cade, Rockford, Illinois
Carolyn P. Carson, Issaquah, Washington
Susie Francis Dempsey, NCTM, Jacksonville, Alabama
Celia Goering, NCTM, Derby, Kansas
Marian L. Henderson, NCTM, Cherokee Village, Arkansas
Linda L. Holden, Valier, Montana
Ruth Jane Holmes, NCTM, Lubbock, Texas
Jacquelyn C. Hutson, Marietta, Georgia
Eugene Martin, Atlanta, Georgia
Sarah L. Martin, Atlanta, Georgia
Alice Maxfield, Laurel, Maryland
Ellen C. Pickell NCTM, Hoquiam, Washington
David T. Piersel NCTM, Windsor Heights, Iowa
Dorothy D. Renouf, Guilford, Connecticut
Linda Shirley, Richardson, Texas
Manuela B. Shull, NCTM, Corpus Christi, Texas
Betty Kowalsky Stasson, NCTM, West Bloomfield, Michigan
Nancy Stavely, Silver Spring, Maryland
Judy Jones Sullins, Athens, Tennessee
Barbara Wing NCTM, Bethesda, Maryland
Michael Zenge, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Leadership Service Recognitions

Marianne Fleming Bryan, NCTM, Certification Commission Chair
Debra Florian, NCTM, Conference Planning Committee Chair
Andy Hisey, MTNA e-Journal Editorial Committee Chair
Karen Hollenback, NCTM, Certification Commissioner
Jovanni-Rey V. de Pedro, NCTM, Collegiate Symposium Committee Chair and Advisor
Carol Prodan, NCTM, Certification Commissioner
Timothy Shook, NCTM, Certification Commissioner
Sharla Van Cleeve, NCTM, Certification Commissioner