

National Winners

of the

MTNA Junior Performance Competitions

Jacqueline Herbein, NCTM, National Coordinator

MTNA Chamber Music Performance Competition

Jeff Brown, NCTM, National Coordinator

MTNA Elementary and Junior Composition Competitions

Christopher Goldston, NCTM, National Coordinator

Linda Stump, NCTM Director of Competitions

Sunday, March 27, 2022 3:30 P.M.

Chopin Prize

Sonata in B Minor, Op. 58, No. 3

Frédéric Chopin

I. Allegro maestoso

Matthew Hahn, piano

Christina Tio and Winston Choi, teachers
East Central Division, Illinois
Award sponsored by The Chopin Foundation of the United States

MTNA Elementary Composition Competition

Playground Suite Katie Chen

Katie Chen, piano
Hwi-Eun Kim, violin
Stella Cho, cello
Su-Shing Chiu, teacher
Southwest Division, California
Award sponsored by Alfred Music

MTNA Junior Composition Competition

Salt Creek Tiger Beetle Quintet

Winston Schneider

Jenna Ferdon, violin
Jessica Hanson, violin
Jesse Griggs, viola
Ruth Meints, viola
Tim Strang, cello
Kenneth Meints, teacher
West Central Division, Nebraska
Award sponsored by Alfred Music

MTNA Chamber Music String Competition

Strum Jessie Montgomery

Euonia String Quartet Kingston Ho, violin Sarah McGuire violin Shinwho Kwun, viola Alexander Smith, cello Carolyn Huebl, coach Vanderbilt University

Award sponsored by the Allen I. McHose Scholarship Fund

MTNA Junior Performance Competition

Sonata in G Minor Claude Debussy

III. Finale: Très animé

Tokuji Miyasaka, violin

Paige Molloy, piano Simon James, teacher Northwest Division, Washington

Award sponsored by Yamaha Corporation of America

Zigeunerweisen, Op. 20

Pablo de Sarasate trans. Robert Stallman

Nikka Gershman-Pepper, flute

Vivian Fan, piano

James Walker, teacher

Southwest Division, California

Award sponsored by the MTNA FOUNDATION Fund

Sonata in D Major, Op. 10, No. 3

Ludwig van Beethoven

I. Presto

Samuel Lu, piano

Ning Lu and Jie Lu, teachers Southwest Division, Utah Award sponsored by Kawai America

MTNA Chamber Music Wind Competition

Quatuor pour Saxophones

Alfred Desenclos

III. Poco largo, ma risoluto: Allegro energico

Sound Session

Matthew Fox, soprano saxophone Jacob Nance, alto saxophone Jeffrey Allardyce, tenor saxophone Tyler Young, baritone saxophone

> Joseph Lulloff, coach Michigan State University

Award sponsored by the Allen I. McHose Scholarship Fund