Evening Performances

Opening Session
March 21
7:30 p.m.
National Chopin Piano Competition
First-Prize Winner

The National Chopin Piano Competition (NCPC) of the U.S., held every five years, is designed to offer performance opportunities and financial support to young American pianists and to enable the prize winners to take part in the International Chopin Competition.

The 10th NCPC will be held February 22–March 1, 2020. The winner will perform following the Opening Session at the conference.

The competition is the flagship event of the Chopin Foundation of the United States.

Evening Performance
Tuesday, March 24, 8:00 p.m.
Anton Nel

Winner of the 1987 Naumburg International Piano Competition Anton Nel tours worldwide as recitalist, concerto soloist, chamber musician and teacher.

Highlights in the U.S. include performances with the Cleveland Orchestra, and the Chicago, San Francisco, Dallas, and Seattle Symphonies, as well as recitals coast to coast. Overseas he has appeared at the Wigmore Hall in London, the Concertgebouw in Amsterdam, Suntory Hall in Tokyo, and major venues in China, Korea and South Africa.

He holds the Long Chair at the University of Texas at Austin and is on the artist-faculties of the Aspen Music Festival and the Steans Institute at the Ravinia Festival.