MTNA members are now electing Division directors for the 2020–2022 biennium. Included below are the nominees as recommended by the MTNA Nominating Committee. The committee nominates two candidates for each position.


In accordance with Article VI, Sec. 2 of the MTNA Bylaws, this slate of two candidates per office was prepared by the MTNA Nominating Committee. Members also may submit nominations: MTNA Bylaws, Article VI, Section 3: “Nominations for National…offices, other than those presented by the Nominating Committee, may be added to the election ballot by petition signed by one hundred Active Members and received at the business offices of the Association no later than three (3) months prior to the scheduled date of the election.” The February/March 2018 issue of American Music Teacher will contain a ballot and voting instructions. Online voting also will be available at www.mtna.org at that time.


The nominating committee consists of Rebecca Grooms Johnson, NCTM, Columbus, Ohio, chair; Elaina Burns, Dubuque, Iowa; Helen Chao Casano, NCTM, Honolulu, Hawaii; Sue Field, Redwood City, California; Gary Ingle, Cincinnati, Ohio; Chan Kiat Lim, Lafayette, Louisiana; Lori Rhoden, Muncie, Indiana; Christine Steiner, NCTM, Wooster, Ohio; Martha Thomas, NCTM, Athens, Georgia; Stephen Thomas, Rexburg, Idaho; Hendry Wijaya, New York, New York.

2018–2020 Division Directors-elect

East Central Division: Lynette Zelis, NCTM

Eastern Division: Wei-Yuh Christina Xie, NCTM

Northwest Division: Jody Graves, NCTM

South Central Division: Barbara Fast, NCTM

Southern Division: Linda Li-Bleuel, NCTM

Southwest Division: Natalya Thran, NCTM

West Central Division: Kirsten Levorson, NCTM

2019–2021 National Officer Election