Newly Elected National Officers


Peter Mack
Peter Mack, NCTM

Peter Mack, NCTM, is a nationally renowned performer, clinician and convention artist. Originally from Ireland, he now lives in Seattle, Washington, where he runs a successful private studio. He was professor of piano at Cornish College for 33 years.
A choral scholar at Trinity College Dublin, Peter received his master’s degree from the University of Cincinnati and his doctorate from the University of Washington. His students frequently win local, national and even international competitions. Peter is the proud teacher of 20 MTNA Competition national finalists and of three MTNA national first-place winners. He has written for Keyboard Companion, the Clarion and American Music Teacher.
   For MTNA, Peter served on the national board as vice president (2017–2019) and as Northwest Division director (2010–2012). He chaired the planning committee for the 2014 Chicago National Conference, coordinated Pedagogy Saturday for the 2012 New York Conference and has led the Artistry Track multiple times. The 2015 Las Vegas conference saw him honored as a surprise MTNA Foundation Fellow. For Washington State, he has served as district vice president (organizing two district conferences), education board member (two five-year terms), and adjudicator chair (organizing two adjudicator conferences). Peter is currently Washington State’s Foundation chair and serves on its nominating committee. He is especially honored to administer the state’s needy student MAP subsidy program. Peter has adjudicated for Washington’s amazing MAP/adjudications program for 23 years.

Vice President


Cindy Peterson-Peart
Cindy Peterson-Peart, NCTM

Cindy Peterson-Peart, NCTM, holds a bachelor’s degree in music from Willamette University. As an independent teacher, she has maintained a vibrant and busy piano studio for more than 30 years. She is active as an adjudicator and clinician, judging exams and festivals and giving presentations throughout Oregon. In addition to accompanying instrumental and vocal soloists, Cindy enjoys performing with the eight-hand piano ensemble, Too Grand, which gives concerts to raise money for local charities. Peterson-Peart most recently served as the MTNA Northwest Division director from 2018–2020. Previous leadership roles include MTNA Collegiate Chapters Forum chair, MTNA State Presidents Advisory Council chair, four years on the MTNA Membership Committee, Senior coordinator for the MTNA Performance Competition at the state and division levels, president of Oregon Music Teachers Association, OMTA State Conference chair, treasurer of Portland District MTA and president of Portland District MTA. She was honored to be Oregon’s 2020 Foundation Fellow.



Christopher Goldston
Christopher Goldston

Christopher Goldston, NCTM, holds a master of music degree in piano performance and pedagogy from Northwestern University, and a bachelor of music degree in piano performance from the University of North Carolina-Greensboro. He has taught at Columbia College Chicago and Sherwood Conservatory of Music and currently maintains an independent teaching studio in the historic Fine Arts Building in Chicago.
I  n 1991, Christopher received the National Federation of Music Clubs Lynn Freeman Olson Composition Award for his first composition, “Night Train.” Since then he has written numerous pieces for piano, voice and chamber ensemble. His compositions are published by Alfred Music and the FJH Music Company. MTNA has commissioned Christopher for the Collaborative Music Commissioning Project for the 2022 MTNA National Conference.
   Christopher has been the National Coordinator for the MTNA Composition Competition since 2010. He has also served as state and division coordinator for the competition. Christopher has been very active in the Chicago Area Music Teachers Association and has served in numerous roles, including president and vice president in charge of programs. He is current president (through the 2020 State Virtual Conference in the Fall) of Illinois State Music Teachers Association. He also has served on the MTNA National Conference Planning Committee. Christopher was named an MTNA Foundation Fellow in 2020.
   Christopher is also in demand as a clinician and guest artist. He has presented for numerous music groups across the United States and has presented sessions at several MTNA state conferences as well as the MTNA National Conference. His students have won local, state and national composition competitions.